Media item

New ministers sworn in at Soestdijk: first cabinet meeting

Week number 52-36

Newsreels in which Dutch subjects of a certain week are presented.


Two months after the fall of the government a new cabinet has been formed, once again led by Dr. W. Drees. The cabinet consists of some old and some new ministers. With shots of the first cabinet meeting in the Trèveszaal (Trève hall) in The Hague. SHOTS: - The new ministers arrive at Palace Soestdijk; they arrive by car, pose and enter; after they've been sworn in the whole group poses on the steps; - int. Trèveszaal: the memebers of the cabinet are seated around the table and are talking to each other; 00:11 Prof. J.A. Kernkamp (Overseas Territories); 00:14 A.C. de Bruijn (Statutory Industrial Organizations); 00:19 M.A. Tellegen (director of the Queen's Cabinet); 00:23 J. Algera (Transport, Public Works and Water Management); 00:30 J. van de Kieft (Finance); 00:32 J.G. Suurhoff (Social Care); 00:43 J.M.A.H. Luns (Foreign Affairs); 00:45 J.W. Beyen (Foreign Affairs); 00:52 Dr. J. Zijlstra (Economic Affairs); 00:55 J.M.L.Th. Cals, LL.M. (Education, Arts and Sciences); 01:03 L.A. Donker (Justice); 01:12 H.B.J. Witte (Housing, with glasses); 01:23 Dr. L.J.M. Beel (Internal Affairs); 01:26 Dr. W. Drees (Prime Minister); 01:29 C. Staf (War); 01:36 S.L. Mansholt (Agriculture, Fishery and Food Supplies).

Polygoon-Profilti (producer) / Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision (curator)
Publication date:
2 September 1952


Original format:
Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision